IAABO Practice Test 2025 – Your Complete All-in-One Guide to Basketball Officiating Success!

Question: 1 / 400

What is the ruling when A-1 intentionally shoves B-1 while holding the ball?

The official rules a player control foul

When A-1 intentionally shoves B-1 while holding the ball, the correct ruling is that it results in a player control foul. This is because a player control foul is called when a player with the ball commits a personal foul, specifically through actions that adversely affect an opponent's ability to play, like shoving. In this situation, A-1's action is not an attempt to play the ball but rather an aggressive act directed at B-1, which justifies the foul call.

The concept of player control is focused on the interaction between the player holding the ball and the opponents, and in this case, A-1's intent to shove indicates a clear violation of sportsmanship and rules of fair play. Recognizing this as a player control foul helps officials maintain the integrity of the game and enforce the rules that promote safety and sportsmanship on the court.

In contrast, a team control foul would imply a situation where the team, rather than an individual player, commits a violation, often related to the team losing possession without the ball being in play. Allowing play to continue would be inappropriate here due to the clear foul. A technical foul typically involves unsportsmanlike conduct or violations unrelated to the play and does not apply

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

The official rules a team control foul

The official allows play to continue without a foul

The official calls a technical foul

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy